Art for Art’s Sake event

Here’s information about a charitable fundraiser event organized by longtime Walden Theatre student Theo Edwards-Butler. Hope some of you can attend!

My name is Theo Edwards-Butler. I am a junior at DuPont Manual High School, and I am a Musical Theatre major at the Youth Performing Arts School. Every year for my birthday, I have organized a service project or activity as a way to give back to my community. One of my most successful projects over the years was having all of my friends donate shoes to give to an organization called Soles for Souls.

As much as I do love shoes, this year, I wanted to give back in a way that expressed who I was as a person and the things that I enjoy doing. With that goal in mind, I created an organization called Art for Art’s Sake to give back to all the many arts organizations that help youth in the city of Louisville, and hopefully as the organization grows, I would like to give back to arts organizations around the country that impact the lives of young people.  I want to start this important initiative by giving back to one of the organizations that has helped me become the artist I am today—Center for the Arts: ArtsReach—my first outlet to the arts.

There will be an annual event to showcase the many different art forms performed by amazing young people who have a deep love and passion for the arts. This is also a fund raising event, with all proceeds going to ArtsReach programming this year and different arts-related organizations enriching the lives of young people in subsequent years. Details for this year’s program are outlined below.

I hope to continue this organization for many years to come, and I hope that with your support, Art for Art’s Sake will grow to help change the lives of many young artists in our area.

Thanks in advance for your support!

Theo Eliza Edwards-Butler
Founder, Art for Art’s Sake

Art for Art’s Sake Inaugural Fundraising Event
Saturday, October 11, 6 p.m., at Vault 1031, 1031 S. Sixth Street, Louisville, Kentucky
Event will include live performances, silent auction (including original artwork) and gourmet hors d’oeuvres
Call (502)554-2144 or (502)322-4332 for details. Tickets are $20 for adults, $10 for students. All donations are welcome!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

